Well We had some great diving this past weekend at Aquabelle in Pohang. We went there the 26th and 27th of May. The weather was great, it was sunny and not a cloud in the sky both days. It was around 26C (79F) both days and the water was great. Well we got there around 11:30 on Saturday and didn't waste any time. We got our gear out of the van and we started to set up the equipment. We got all of the gear ready and the suits on in a timely fashion, but found out that there was a group in front of us that were going to go out on the boat that was at the dock... The good thing is that there are 2 boats that run divers out and back in, the bad part was that there were 3 guys with rebreather systems in the boat before us... As discussed before I was to guide the fun divers with JoLeen and Jen both watching the 2 groups that made up the fun divers. I gave a briefing and told the divers that we would try to stay in big group and the visibility would dictate how close we would group together. I also told them that we would be swimming in a straight line for about 20mins in one direction and back the same way for another 20mins. I also told them to tell me when they were low on air or cold and we would surface and get them into the boat. The briefing went well for my first one, well at least I thought that it went well.
Well about an hour later the other boat came back and we made a mad dash to it. We were all baking hot, because of the wetsuits. JoLeen, Francois, and I decided to jump of the dock before the boats got there to stay cool. Anyways, we got into the boat and we were off. The first dive that we did was at the new reef. It was a reef of seaweed and soft coral. Basically it is just a rocky ridge in the middle of sand. It is about 12m to 18m (39.3ft to 59ft) deep. You can see a lot of fish and other wildlife there. Well we got over the site that we were diving and we all rolled off the boat. We grouped up and talked for a few seconds to make sure everyone knew what we were about to do. They all gave the ok and we descended. The water was great at the top. It was 21C (69.8F), and the visibility was around 6m (19.68ft). Well when we got to the bottom the water went from 21 C to around 14C (57.2F). It was a big shock, but I really don't mind the cold water. Well we got grouped up at the bottom and started off heading east.
As we were headed down there were a lot of jellyfish in the water. We made it through them without an incident everything was going great, we were going at a nice slow pace, but Jen's group was falling behind, because there was a photographer in her group and he was taking pictures of everything. We slowed down and tried to let them catch up. I was trying to look back at them every 5 - 6 kick cycles to see how they were all doing. Well around 5 mins into the dive we lost Jen's group. I wasn't worried because Jen is a wonderful diver and the guys she was with are all very experienced divers. They knew where we were headed and I wasn't too worried about them, the only thing that worried me was that I lost a group... Well JoLeen and I continued on until we got into a valley. I told them to wait, and that I was going to go looking for the other group. Well I went over the ridge that we went over and I looked both ways, well I didn't find them. I turned around and headed back over the ridge and JoLeen and the other group had disappeared... I was thinking "OH FUCK".... Well I started to search for them in all different directions. I looked for bubbles, but I couldn't find any. After about 10mins, I started my expanding square to try and find them. That didn't pan out. I checked my air and I was at 70 bar (~1000psi), I had to ascend because I had to make a safety stop. Well I made my safety stop and set off my SMB (surface marker buoy). When I got to the surface I saw that the groups were getting on the boat and that I was the last one to surface. When we got on the boat, JoLeen, Jen, and I all asked each other where we all went too. We came to the conclusion that it was all just misunderstanding. Well I am glad that we didn't lose anyone permanently and that we all got back on the boat safely.
Once we were back on shore we talked it over with Drew and he told us that it was a good learning situation and that no one was hurt or wanted their money back so it was a win. I still don't completely see it his way, but I can see where he is coming from. Anyways, We got refitted for our second dive and began the process of waiting again. This time we only had to wait 2 hours to get back on a boat. On this dive we did things a little bit differently. We broke the fun divers up into 2 groups. I was with Dave and Sumin and Jen was with Paer and Rob. JoLeen this time was going to help Drew out with the AOW divers. I gathered my group and gave them a quick briefing on what we were going to be doing. Also we decided to take an egg down with us, because this dive was going to be around 30m (98.4ft) and we wanted to see what the egg was going to do. Well we got onto the boat and we headed out.
The dive site that we were doing on this dive is called "Cube Reef". It is a man made reef, and is made out of big metal frames that are in the shape of cubes. They have been there for about 20yrs and they are home to a lot of fish and some neat looking coral. We all got out of the boat and I handed the egg to Dave before I rolled in. We went down to the bottom and we all kneeled down. Sumin got out her camera and filmed me breaking the egg open. Sure enough the pressure from the water kept the egg in shape. It was really cool to see it. We played with the egg for a few mins and then we started to swim around. We saw a schools of fish, jellyfish, sea hares, and other such sea creatures. This dive was nice and relaxing compared to the first one. We really didn't do much except just swim over the reef and around it. After about 30mins we started our ascent with 3mins to spare before we would have had to made a decompression stop (going from 3min safety stop to an 8min decompression stop. Not that big of a problem, but we didn't have any drop tanks with us in case we ran out of air.). Well we got to the surface and we all got into the boat and headed back.
Once we got back we got all the gear cleaned off and hung up to dry. We showered and got ready for the night activities. The group that I went with all brought different food. We had a nice dinner, with Korean pork, homemade potato salad, steaks, homemade vegetarian curry, and hotdogs. We had beer and soju to wash it all down. This all started around 5:30pm and most of us stayed up till around 11pm drinking and having a good time. Well by the time I had finished drinking most of the people were a sleep in our Min Bok (a traditional Korean sleeping place). I found a spot on the floor and started to sleep, well that is what I wanted to do at least. One of the guys that came with us is a big snorer. Well he was cutting a freakin forest down by the time I laid down. I could stand it, so I went into another room, well Nick "The Greek" followed me and we went to sleep. The girls also followed, but they went to sleep in the changing room of the women's shower room. Nick and I went to sleep in the men's changing room. Well about 45 mins after we got to sleep, the Korean guy who owns the place decided he was going to have a party in the room that we were sleeping. He scared me and I shot up really quickly, however Nick was not so fast on getting up. Finally after about 10 mins of trying to get him up we got him up and out. We went back into "the forest" where the lumberjack was still very much at work. Finally out of sheer exhaustion, I pasted out. The next morning we woke up 5hrs later and decided it was time to get up. The girls started to make breakfast for all of us. We had a lovely breakfast of breakfast burritos and fresh fruit. We had the morning cups of coffee and we were ready to go.
We started off the day with a nice dive site called The Virgin Mary. You can guess the reason for the name of this site... That's right there is a statue of the Virgin Mary praying. The dive is about 18m (59ft) deep. There is also a giant crack that we can swim through named "The Virgin's Crack", because the Virgin Mary is at the entrance of the crack. Well we got into our groups which were a little different than yesterdays. Kostyantan was with us this time and he had to do his briefings and leading for his Divemaster course like I had to do for mine. So this time I was with Kostyantan, Paer, and Rob. We did our briefing and got into the boat.
Once we got to the site we got into the water and we talked for a few seconds and then descended. We went down the 18m (59ft) and started to swim around. We got to the crack, but we didn't see the statue. Well we swam through the crack and then just floated around. We were all following Kostyntan this time which was nice, because I didn't really have to worry about loosing anyone. We were down there for about 30 some odd minutes. While we were down there we saw a lot of fish and coral, basically the same as before, but different dive sites. We started to surface and we did our safety stop and got back into the boat. The water temp at the surface was about the same as yesterday's, but the bottom had dropped to 11C (51.8F), getting back into the warm sun was nice. Once we got back to the docks we got our gear refitted, and waited for the next boat to take us out. While we were refitting, I asked the other groups if they saw the statue, and they all said yes.... This is the second year in a row that I have not seen it... Well come to find out that someone had knocked it over into the rocks and then cut off the head... No wonder why I didn't see it...
Well for this dive Kostyantan gave us a briefing for our next dive site which is an underwater Buddha statue. Yep that is right we are going to hit multi-religions on these dives. Well we sat there listening to his brief and then got our gear on. We all got into the boat and the boat captain told us that the site was "under construction", so we would have to choose another dive site. We decided to go and look for the "Cock and Balls" statue of fertility. The captains didn't know exactly where the statue was, but they knew that it was in a certain region, so the dropped us off and told us to head SW to possible see it. Well we all dropped into the ocean and descended. Well I thought that we were going to be around 12m ~ 18m (39.37ft ~ 59ft), but we ended up going down to around 25m (82ft). The water temp for that dept at 12:25m was a balmy 10C (50F). Anyways, we started to head SW and we swam around for 30mins and didn't find anything, but we did get to see a lot of neat fish and a thermal-cline (Where the temp changes rapidly and you get to see the wavy ripples in the water because of the temp change. It looks sort of like looking at a grill from the side when it is on in the summer and everything behind it is wavy.) Anyways, we ascended normally and did our safety stop. We got into the boat and headed back to the dock.
We got back and washed the gear again. We also ordered some chinese food. Well while we waited for that to arrive we hung the gear up and let it dry. We also did our logbooks and exchanged signatures. After the food came we had a late lunch then headed back to Busan. We all had a great weekend at Pohang and I hope that there is many more to come before I head off to Roatan in September.