Wednesday, June 27, 2012

My First Trip to the Philippines! Day 2

Day 2 of my Philippines trip was also a good one as well. The weather was holding out for us and the water was clear, warm, and beautiful. Well we started our day off at 7:30am with breakfast, and what not. Well all gathered by the pool and got all of our gear prepared, well the stuff that we could prepare such as the suits and other personal effects that you wanted to take on the boat. We got all ready and headed out to the boat. Once we all got on the boat the captain and the crew pushed off the boat and we were away! The dives that we had planned were at a fish sanctuary (Gilutungen) and then one at a plane wreck. The boat ride took us about an hour to get there and there were so many other boats there full with divers. Once we got there we were told that no cameras were permitted on the surface, so everyone with a camera put it in their BCD pockets and then quickly jumped in.

Well once we were all in he water we went down around 29m (95ft) along a giant coral cliff. There were so many different types of fish on this dive and they all were really colorful. We also saw some Boxer Shrimp, Triggerfish, Moray Eels, and others. Well we swam along the wall for about 40mins and then we came up in a shallow area were we did our safety stop. The shallow area was about 6m (~20ft) deep and the water temp there was around 32C (89.6F). There were SO MANY FISH there!!! It was like a fish nursery. We started to play with the Clownfish and the other tropical fish that were there. Clown fish are so funny. Like I said before they don't care how big you are they will protect their homes and the area around their homes. Well after around 51mins in the water we got out and took a rest on the boat. Well I thought that we were going to take lunch after the second dive, but that wasn't the case. We ended up going to a fish restaurant on this little island for a nice seafood lunch... Well as I told you before I have a shellfish allergy, so this lunch was just wonderful for me. I ate the fruit and the appetizers that were given us, and everyone else had nice crabs and other shellfish. Well after lunch on the island we got back on the boat and headed back into the water.

This dive was like the first one, but on this one we went just a little bit deeper ~25m (82ft). We did the same this as before, but this time we went in the opposite direction. We followed the wall back and this time we went to another shallow area to do our safety stop. This time we were swimming around with even more fish and we also got to see a Sweetlips baby. It is amazing that such a cute fish turns out to be something completely different when it is an adult. Well after about 60mins my buddy and I got out of the water and back into the boat. Once we were on the boat we took off for the next dive site. I was so tired that I fell asleep on the way there. When I woke up I was so confused as to what was going on. I thought that we were going to go back to the resort to get more air, but they had already stored it away for us. Anyways, I had no clue what we were doing, so I just followed them and got geared up and jumped in...

The site that we were at was called the Tambuli Airplane Wreck. It was a little airplane that went down many years ago and most of the frame is still there underwater. To get there we had to go down 27m (~89ft). Well since we had dove deep all day and we didn't have a lot of surface time we all hit decompressions stops. I was lucky and only had 8mins of decompression to do, other had anywhere from 10 to 17mins of decompression to make. The wreck itself was very interesting to see, it was big enough to swim through and the sea life around it was very interesting to see. Well after we made our stops and all got back onto the boat and headed back to the resort.

Once we got back to the resort we cleaned off the gear and we got cleaned up and changed. This time they took us to a Chinese Restaurant. It took us about an hour to get there, I really don't remember, because I had fallen asleep in the van that took us. When we got there they had the menu already ordered, but they let me order something off the menu, because they had ordered lobster and other such foods that I would love to eat, but can't. I ended up ordering chicken. The dinner was really good and like before we headed to the mart on the way back home for supplies and things to get us through tomorrow as well. Once we got back we started to party as before, but this time we stayed out a lot later and we drank more than the night before, because our dive trip had come to and end. We would be leaving Sunday morning, but very early so we couldn't do any dives on Saturday. So no diving equalled us getting drunk and lounging around the resort on Saturday.

Overall my first trip to the Philippines was a good one. They people were nice, and the diving there was amazing!! I wish that I could someday go back there and dive the other islands there. I was really happy that I went on this trip and I would do it all again in a heart beat.

No comments:

Post a Comment